Facebook announces privacy settings changes

/, Technology/Facebook announces privacy settings changes

Facebook announces privacy settings changes

By Lauren Howells

Facebook has announced that it is taking “additional steps” to put people more in control of their privacy, following the Cambridge Analytica scandal which broke in mid-March.

In a blog posted on its ‘newsroom’ site, Facebook admitted that the revelations last week had shown

“how much more work we need to do to enforce our policies and help people understand how Facebook works and the choices they have over their data”. 

The social media giant said that it had “heard loud and clear that privacy settings and other important tools are too hard to find” and that it knew that it “must do more” to keep people informed.  

Facebook said that although it had been working on these updates for “some time”, the events of the past several days underscored their importance.

Settings menu redesigned

On mobile devices, the settings menu has been redesigned in order to make it easier to find things. At the moment, mobile users have the settings spread out across almost 20 different screens. Facebook says that these settings will now all be able to be accessed from a single place.  

Outdated settings have also been “cleaned up” so that it is easier to see what information “can and can’t be shared with apps”.

New privacy shortcuts menu

A new privacy shortcuts menu has been designed, which Facebook says will make it quicker and easier for users to control their data.

From here, users will be able to control their personal information by, for example, deleting any posts they have shared or searches they have made on Facebook.

Users will also be able to manage the information that Facebook uses to show them ads, as well as managing who they want to see their posts and profile.

Two-factor authentication will also be available, which enables users to be alerted if someone logs into their Facebook account from a device that Facebook doesn’t recognise.

Facebook announces privacy settings changes

Access Your Information

Facebook says that through its new Access Your Information feature, users will now be able to access and manage their information (such as posts or comments) and delete things that they no longer want on Facebook.

Users should also be able to download all the data they have shared on Facebook, such as photos or timeline posts.

Facebook confirmed that these new steps will be in addition to the ones that Mark Zuckerberg announced last week.

The BBC has said that it understands that Facebook also intends to make the link for users to delete their account “more prominent”.

The EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), which strengthens data protection rules, will come into force on 25 May.

By | 2018-03-30T09:33:57+00:00 March 30th, 2018|Business, Technology|0 Comments

About the Author:

mm
After completing her law degree, Lauren decided to follow her passion for writing. She regularly contributes articles to CLNews on personal finance and general consumer topics.

Leave A Comment